INTERMEZZO: A Big Week to Start a New Tradition

I’ve decided to make this something of a big week. It’s pretty significant for me, but I wanted to do something different this year.  I’m going to take some time off and reconnect – with people I haven’t seen in a while. Visit graves of friends and family who loomed large in my life. I think on them often, but a graveside visit has been absent for too long. I’ll be on the road on-again, off-again, bouncing around and randomly dropping in and, hopefully, surprising folks, with a number of side trips to parks and beaches to just – unstick – from the world. I’m going to miss some folks, but I’ll actually plan for this to be a new tradition the third week of March moving forward. It’s my way of giving back of myself, something I should do more often.

I’m placing personal relationships at a higher priority than they have been. Somewhere along the assembly line that life became, friendships fell to second place. Sure, professional relationships remain well maintained. But it’s not enough for me. It’s the personal contacts, the touch points, the one hundred little conversations that hold more meaning than any hundred big work conversations. I miss my friends and I’m to blame.

It’s a balance I’ve missed. It energizes and invigorates and is a necessary part of a healthier, happier life.

Tagged

One thought on “INTERMEZZO: A Big Week to Start a New Tradition

  1. diazrub73 says:

    Go for It Sam. I think the same way. I have moved around a lot and, in the course, I’ve left many friends behind. The one thing that I have come to realize is that true friendships are difficult to build but easier to maintain. Work-based, professional friendships come and go. I too feel the urge to make it back and re-connect to those people who made a significant impact on my life. I think I will follow your advise. Happy travels!!!

Leave a Reply

